Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

Gladys Aylward… The origional smallwoman September 2, 2007

Filed under: China — smlwoman @ 8:23 pm

gladys-aylward.jpg  

“I wasn’t God’s first choice for what I’ve done for China…I don’t know who it was…It must have been a man…a well-educated man. I don’t know what  happened. Perhaps he died. Perhaps he wasn’t willing…and God looked down…and saw Gladys Aylward…And God said – “Well, she’s willing.”
           – Gladys Aylward

gladys-aylward-2.jpg

At the end of her life Gladys wrote of herself: “My heart is full of praise that one so insignificant, uneducated, and ordinary in every way could be used to His glory for the blessing of His people in poor persecuted China.”

 

7 Responses to “Gladys Aylward… The origional smallwoman”

  1. Brittani Says:

    Hello, I am looking for my report i have to do. you gave me a lot of information an i want to say my thanks so… thank you so… much. I would love to hear more things from you.

  2. smlwoman Says:

    I will try to email you too, but you really have to check out her autobiography called The Little Woman by Gladys Aylward and Christine Hunter. It is a small paperback. It reads like an adventure story. You won’t be able to put it down. And because it is small you can read it quickly.

  3. smlwoman Says:

    I have it on both my goodreads page and my bookcrossing page under sites I love in the green box to the right of the screen.

  4. Donna Stokke Says:

    One of my very favorite books and now the movie…I have a question… After Gladys brought the chidren to safety did she make it back to the mission and did the Eurasian Colonel live.?? Is it recorded any where???

    • smlwoman Says:

      I am not sure, but I think the book small woman by allan burgess may talk about her life after that. I know she got really sick at some point. And it was while she was sick, and back in London that Alan interviewed her before he wrote his book. The info on the Colenel in the movie is very different from what really happened. I read some place that she was not very happy with that in the movie. It might also be in Alan’s book. Or it might have been something I read from her own biography. I can’t remember.

  5. Gloria McDowell Says:

    Gladys Aylward: The Little Woman by Moody Press is a better book. The author gives more insights on Gladys Aylward’s relationship to God. I remember my favorite chapter was about her witnessing about Jesus the Savior to hundreds of Buddhist lamas…and their amazing response. This story of the Buddhist monastery wasn’t in the Small Woman, I don’t believe. I read both books long ago and G.A. is still my hero!

    • smlwoman Says:

      I did see that one, but I haven’t read it yet. I wonder if that is the same Little Woman that I read. The authors were Gladys Aylward herself and a co-author. One of the things that really hit me in that book happened while I was reading on the plane flying home from WI. She was working with all these collage kids and someone found out about them and what they were doing. I can’t remember what country they were in at the time. The officials asked each student to deny Christ. Not one of them did. Gladys had to watch as each and every student was beheaded right in front of her for not denying Christ. I remember Gasping outloud. I did not expect it at all. All I could think of was how scary it must have been as each student watched the one in front of them die in such a horrific way. It has been a long time since I read them but I want to say it was 150 to 250 students. Thanks for the comment! I will have to check it out!


Leave a Reply

