Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

A True Fairy Tale September 23, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — smlwoman @ 12:17 pm

These are two people you should really know.  Their story is really quite amazing, especially now-a-days.  I have the pleasure of having them as parents.

Carol saw this man, Bill,  for ten minutes a day for 5 days.  He came to her work to get help finding work for himself.  After he was done as a client she asked her boss if she could invite him to dinner.  Her boss said sure.  So Carol sent him a formal invitation to dinner at her home. 

She was shocked when Bill rsvp’d with a “yes!”  She made her most excellent dinner.   Chicken parmesian,sauce from scratch, fried Asparagus and artichoke hearts, and potato croqettes.  He showed for dinner that night, and it must have been a hit because he never left.  The next morning, they took me to the park, I was 4, and while at the park Bill asked Carol to marry him.  Now that’s a dinner worth learning how to make!

(Hopefully all the guys won’t think I am trying to get a marraige proposal when I make this same stuff.)

She cried and said, “yes!” That night they asked me if I would like Bill to be my daddy and I said, “yes!”  The next day they told her family, who was in schock, but accepted the perposal.  The next day they got their marraige license, and the day after that they rested. Then the next day they went to the courhouse with Carol’s mom and step dad, and me, and got married! 

Can you believe that?!  5 days from the first date to the actual wedding day!  Now you would not bet on that marraige lasting, but they have been happily married for 33 1/2 years. 

I sent my dad a 20 questions forward once, and he surprised me and filled it out.  My mom printed it out and saved it.  One question was what is your first thought when you wake up in the morning?  My dad responded with, “how lucky I am to wake up next to my wife each morning.” 

I think their story is amazing.  My dad is an amazing dad!  He stuck with me through thick and thin and is always doing more and more for me even as an adult.  My mom has been the best mom in the world, and I am so glad she took a chance on my dad.  He actually adopted me not long after they got married. 

  I just wanted to share my parents story with you.  They are unique in two ways, the way they came together, and the fact that they are still together and strong in their marraige.  And like many parents they are very sacraficial with thier life.  They always tend to put the needs of others before their own.  I am glad I got the chance to honor them here on my blog.  I love you mom and dad! 

 

2 Responses to “A True Fairy Tale”

  1. Dawson Says:

    That was awesome!

  2. Vince Says:

    Goodluck to the both of yah!!!! Godbless..


Leave a Reply

