Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

Remember When? September 23, 2007

Filed under: my thoughts,Uncategorized — smlwoman @ 12:19 am

I was watching an episode of Doogie Howser MD from the first season. (1989) It seems so remedial watching it now.  But back in the day it was soooo good! 

But my how times have changed. 

Doogie has a baby left on his doorstep by a 17 year old, brand new mom.  The baby is about a week old.  Doogie has to bring it back to the hospital.  He and his girlfriend, Wanda, drive the baby to the hospital together in his mom’s station wagon.  After ariving at the hospital Wanda reaches behind her seat and picks up the baby that has been lying on the back seat all the way to the hospital, restrained only by her receiving blanket.  1989, doesn’t seem that long ago to me, it seems like we have been using car seats for much longer.  But I guess not.

It brought me back to a time when I remember riding in the back of my parents car, lying on the top of the back seat against the window, with no worries from me or my parents.  But if my nephew is put in my brothers truck with just a seat belt around him to drive three miles, I freak out.  What a different world I grew up in.

 

Leave a Reply

