Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

Keep the Word Hidden in your heart September 27, 2007

Filed under: my thoughts,Uncategorized — smlwoman @ 10:13 pm

I like watching Survivor.  Sometimes I think I would like to try it out, easy way to lose weight.  At least as far as willpower goes.  It is in China this season, and as some of you know that is where my heart tends to lean.  I am really enjoying the surroundings.

                                        survivor_china_official_logo.jpg               

 Anyways, there is a Christian Radio station DJ on the show this season.  So far she is still there, but I think that is because her tribe hasn’t lost immunity yet. I doubt she will make it to the final four let alone the winner.  She is just not Survivor savy.  Probably a good thing.

 On tonights show she went off by herself and did her private camera.  Her comments, “this is so hard, I think I would be fine if I only had my Bible so I could spend time with God.”  Then almost broke down in tears. 

This statement bothered me.  You don’t need your Bible to spend time with God.  It is a way that God speaks to you, but we are told to keep the word hidden in your heart.  Many excellent teachers in my life encouraged me to memorize as much of the Bible as possible. 

 Now I am not great at my memory verses, and I haven’t memorized or reviewed the verses I did know in a long time.  But I know enough to pull verses into my thoughts when I need to.  When I am struggling with something I have verses I say to myself.  I’m sure many of us Christians do.  But for a Christian on a Christian radio station,  she should have several things to pull from.  But most of all, she needs to be still and just listen. 

Survivor is a good trial for what it could be like for Christians in the future.  There will be a day when Christians won’t have their Bible handy.  Will you let that stop you from spending time with God?  Or from sharing the Gospel?  Or from meditating on the Word?  I sincerely hope not.  The disciples didn’t have the bible in their pockets, or purses, or their chariots, or tied up in their sandle laces, or just in their hands.  The word of God was truely hidden in their hearts, and shared in their actions and words. 

bible-cross.jpg

                                                     

 

3 Responses to “Keep the Word Hidden in your heart”

  1. jose Says:

    The love some people have for the Bible borders on idolatry.

  2. smlwoman Says:

    Interesting thought.

  3. shaun Says:

    The contempt many people have for the Bible is a form of idolatry. To reject the Bible is to reject God and call Him a liar. Those of us who “love” (Psalm 119:163) the Bible love truth because it was given by the God of truth. The Bible is to be loved because it gives us the thoughts and ideas and values and expectations of the One who created us. The verse referred to above says, “I hate and despise falsehood, But I love Your law.”


Leave a Reply

