Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

When God is Silent February 10, 2008

Filed under: Time with God — smlwoman @ 12:05 pm

bible-cross.jpgI have been struggling with God’s help and how to have faith.  Or more, how to claim faith with confidence.  I don’t have a good vehicle to drive so I won’t make it to church today.  I turned on  In Touch with Charles Stanley and this was the message.  Without a doubt, I believe God wanted me to hear this message. 

Read  John 11:1-15 Then read on. 

REASONS GOD IS SILENT

* To get our attention.

    -We are so wrapped up in our own problems we aren’t paying attention.

* Unconfessed Sin.

   – He’s ready to talk to us about this sin.  And it is important to take care of this first.  (This is not always the reason, it is just one possible reason.)

* We’re not ready to listen to Him

   – Did you know that Satan can help you get what you want anytime God doesn’t want you to have it?  God is trying to do what is good for you even if you don’t recognize it.  But you have to be ready to listen.

*He’s teaching us to trust Him

  – Can I trust God when He is silent?  He’s not inactive, He still cares.  Do we have to see it or feel it in order to trust Him?  The Bible says He will never leave us nor forsake us.

*He’s teaching us to distinguish His voice from other’s voices.

   -This one is huge for me.  I am always questioning weather it is coming from God or my own thoughts. All of us, at some time, have gone to God and asked Him for something and we put words in His mouth. I also ask, am I hearing His voice or is it Satan’s or the World’s? Until I finally learn to the differnce between what I’m thinking and what God is saying, I will always have these questions. 

   – As kids when we went out to play my mother would call me when it was time to come home.  It didn’t matter if all our mom’s called us at the same time, I knew which voice was my mom’s. 

  – When Dr. Stanley was in another country, he watched two shepards go to the well, and all their sheep followed and got mixed up.  He thought, ” this is going to be a mess.  How will they ever get their sheep seperated?”  But one of the shepards turned and said something in their own language, and turned and walked away.  And all of his sheep, and only his sheep, turned and walked away with him.  Sheep are not nearly as dumb as we are.  They know their master’s voice. :0)

* He’s bringing us to a deeper understanding by praying down the wall.

   – We have to remember that He may be silent, but you don’t quit.  He’s already working on getting it done.  He wants us to trust Him.

   – When you are desperate enough you keep on praying and talking to Him.  You can’t live in a relationship with God and grow in you  Christian life if He has to always be “God on demand” to answer our pettitions. 

   – When there is no particular need, none what-so-ever, are you just as excited about getting alone with God and being quiet? Talking to Him when you don’t have any need in particular?  Or is your real energetic prayer time, 99% of the time, when you have a need? (This is me)

  -Come to Him and say,”Lord, I don’t  have any needs.  I am just here to kneel in your presence and be with you and you be with me.”  (This is not me)

– If you can not reach that stage in your life your still in kindergarten, for the simple reason His goal is intimcacy with us. His goal is relationship, a deep abiding relationship. (I’m still in Kindergarten)
-If you have a genuine loving relationship you don’t have to have this, you don’t have to have that. Just presence, that’s all.

– Can you trust God, just presence, just being in His presence?
– He wants to get you beyond, I need this, and that, please protect me, my family, friends, etc. He wants you quietly, just as you are.

We can’t stand quiet. In our country when someone has passed away, we have a MOMENT of silence. Not five minutes, that would kill us. Only a moment, 60 seconds. We can’t stand silence. We live in a noisy world, cell phones in our pockets, ipods in our ears, we fill our lives with noise. Lots and lots of noise. We want the distractions so we don’t have to think.  “I don’t even want to think about that right now.  I’ll think about it later.”  This drives my mom nuts.

HOW DO YOU RESPOND WHEN GOD IS SILENT?

I have done all of these in the past month. They are pretty self explanatory. I am sure I am not the only one who experience these when God is silent.

* Disapointment
* Discouragement
* Confusion
* Doubt
* Guilt – I must have doen something wrong.
* Anger
* Feeling seperated from God.
* Fear – Has God deserted me? Have I commited the unpardonable sin? NO YOU HAVEN’T

There are times in the Bible when God is silent. He was silent for 400 years and then He brought us John the Baptist. He asked Noah to build an ark, because it was supposed to rain. Something that had never happened before. It didn’t rain for 100 years after God had told Noah to build the ark. These are examples to show us that God is working. There are reasons for His silence and they are always to help us. His silence is good for us. He is being good to us.

   -It is not a relationship of I do this for you and you do this for me. 

I did this recently too, I said, ” He must not have let this happen because I didn’t go to church Sunday.” I really believed it. Most people call it Karma.

HOW SHOULD WE RESPOND?

* Ask Him why?
– Even Jesus asked Him, ” My God, my God why have you forsaken me?” God won’t get mad at us for asking Him questions. Telling Him we don’t understand.

* Remember His silence does not mean He’s inactive.
– The 46th Psalm says , ” Cease Striving and know that I’m God” or other versions say “Be still and know that I am God.” But cease striving really hits it home for me. He will perfect what is wrong with us.

* Anticipate a more intimate relationship with Him.

* Respect the right of God to be silent.
– We can ask why, but He doesn’t have to answer. We have to trust and be ok with silence. Again this is something we don’t like. Even as I type I have the TV on. Just for noise. I will be driving my dad’s truck and I asked my brother for the radio and he said no, it isn’t working right. This was frustrating for me. It means I have to be driving in silence. It allows my mind to wander or think to much.

* Read God’s Word.

* When God is silent to you, keep talking and keep praying and keep reading the word. Continually trusting God.

– It’s not the church stuff that God wants most. It’s not bible studies, potlucks, worship, or even outreach and service. It’s an intimate relationship with you. A sense of Oneness.

So how about you? Are you scared to death of silence?

Romans 8:28
We know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose

You can hear the complete sermon by clicking on In Touch in the first paragraph.  This is what I got out of the sermon, but you may get some different things. 

 

4 Responses to “When God is Silent”

  1. Bob Says:

    Is God silent? Heaven forbid! He is ever-present! Found alive in his mighty and eternal Word! 1 Peter 1:25. He tells me, “I will never leave you or forsake you.” Heb 13:5. What tender words to hear from my dear Savior; what a mighty promise!

    He says, “Draw near to Me and I will draw near to you.” James 4:6. I can draw hear to Him any time; He will always be there. He has in the past and by faith I know He will in the future!

    He says, “..you are my disciple indeed if you continue/abide in my Word…” John 8:31 – Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed (emphasis added). As I abide in His Word I have fellowship with Him and He is not silent 1 John 1:3-5. He is with me and speaks volumes to me through His Word!

    He speaks to me through the only words that are spirit and life. John 6:63b – the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life. What joy! I never had need of what He’s thinking about me or what He wonders of me, for the Bible declares it! Heb 11:6 – But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.

    By His statutes I know what to do in every situation! 2 Peter 1:3 – According as his divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue. Praise God that I don’t have to wonder about it or search elsewhere!

    My afflictions are good because they drive me to know Him through His Word! Psalm 119:71 – It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes.

    The Old Testament comforts me in all my tribulation! His Word encourages me and gives me hope like no others words can! Ro 15:4 – For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.

    His Word is complete! Hallelujah! There is nothing else I need to hear from Him this side of eternity! Hebrews 1:1-2 – God, who at sundry times and in divers manners spake in time past unto the fathers by the prophets, hath in these last days spoken unto us by his Son. If He could be with me today to answer any question I have He’d cite what He’s already spoken in His Word! Otherwise the Bible wouldn’t be complete! But it is complete for all matters of life and godliness! 2 Peter 1:3-4.

    If I am not satisfied with His Word then I am not walking by faith; for faith comes by hearing and hearing by the Word of God! – Ro 10:17. God is only silent when I fail to seek Him in his Word. It is my fault completely and never God’s.

    His Word is the only source of Truth! The only way to sanctification! John 17:17 – Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

    I can defeat every attack of Satan as Jesus did with 3 Scripture. Matthew 4:3-10.

    The greatest sermon ever preached, the Sermon on the Mount, ends with the Lord Jesus commanding us to build our houses on His Word. Matthew 7:24 – Therefore whosoever heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them, I will liken him unto a wise man, which built his house upon a rock.

    I will never fail to prosper spiritually if I meditate on His law day and night! Ps 1:2-3 – But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

    His Word is my vision! I have no need of a sign or vision! Pr 29:18 – Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he. Day by day, His Word guides me! Psalm 119:105 Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. I need no personal prophecy or supernatural circumstance for I know His will for me from His Word! 1 Thes 4:3a – For this is the will of God, even your sanctification. Ro 12:2 – And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

    Salvation comes by His Word! John 5:24 – Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life. Ro 1:16 – …for the gospel is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth.

    I know I have eternal life because the words He has spoken declare it and confirm it! I need not wonder or doubt! John 5:24, 1 John 5:13 – These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God.

    His Word will never fade away or perish! It is everlasting! 1 Peter 1:25 – But the word of the Lord endureth for ever.

    I know His eternal love for me by His Word! Jer 31:3 – I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore with kindness; I have drawn you. 1 John 4:10 – Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

    Does not His Word melt your soul and quench your thirst? Does this not ring contentment throughout your heart? Do you not find everything you need for your walk in His Word? If not, then let it dwell richly in you! Col 4:16 – Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom. May you meditate on it day and night (Ps 1:2-3) that the Holy Spirit may bring it to mind when you need it throughout the day. John 16:13 – …he will guide you into all truth… Then He will never be silent in your life!

    Praise His Word for it is exulted as high as His Name! Psalm 138:2 – …for thou hast magnified thy word above all thy name.

  2. jackswords Says:

    Preach it, yo! Everything Bob said is true and is perfect for a sermon or exhortation. I wouldn’t speak these exact words to someone who is experiencing the silence of God. The Psalms have plenty of about God being silent or being far off and while you can argue that they are prayers about perception and not reality it doesn’t change the reality that the psalmist wasn’t hearing God.

    Can you turn to His Word and still not hear the clear voice of God? Undoubtedly. Is it because God isn’t speaking or is it that we aren’t able to hear (for whatever reason)? My money is on the latter. But if the fault rests with me, it still doesn’t change the reality that I’m not hearing God. By all appearances He is silent and keeping His counsel.

    If God appears silent then I would follow Jody’s advice. Not the least of which is “Read God’s Word.”

  3. jackswords Says:

    I want to hear more about anticipating a more intimate relationship with God. What do you mean?

    Also I would add to seek godly counsel when it seems God is silent.

  4. Aplz Says:

    ..and I believe God wanted me to read this tonight. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

