Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

Blogging Lent “Paradise” February 17, 2008

Filed under: Blogging Lent — smlwoman @ 10:18 am

lily-cross-med.gif “Truly, I say to you, today you will be with me in paradise” -Luke 23:43

I have had a hard time focusing on this thought.  It has been said that being absent from the body is being present with the Lord.  How hard is it to believe this when you are not sure if the person is “saved” or a believer? 

When my grandmother died I was devisated.  In her death as well as that I wasn’t here when it happened.  God provided a way for me to get here, I was in WI at the time.  And they kept her breathing tube in until I got here. I was with her when she took her last breath. 

When I arrived I asked for ten minutes alone with her.  I didn’t really get it, but they tried.  It was really only a few minutes.  

 I wanted to tell her one last time of the gospel of Jesus.  How she can know she is going to heaven.  I had to make the attempt again just in case she could hear me.  My grandmother believed in God, she believed in Jesus and what He did on the cross.  But she also prayed to the saints.  Mostly Mary and St. Jude.  St. Jude was the one she prayed to the most.  When we talked about God while she was alive, she was resistant.  She felt like she had made her peace with God.  As a Born again Christian I didn’t know.  She always said there are two things you never talk about with people, Religion and Politics.  So when she was just lying there, I wanted her to hear it without any arguements, or tuning me out.  I was the closest with my grandmother.  I wanted so desperately for her to have peace in Heaven.  She had such a hard struggle of a life here on earth.  I wanted God to wipe away every one of her tears.  

When I looked in her bible while she was alive, all her passages were asking God to let her leave this earth.  She was tired of all the pain she was in emotionally.   

 I didn’t know what to write about for “Paradise”.  Until I read  the ugly evangelical post and I really liked what Dave pointed out.  I pasted it below.  Keep in mind he is writing about the “Lord or Lunatic” angle.

{This thief says almost nothing – certainly he doesn’t repent of his sins and ask Jesus to be his personal Lord and Savior. The Romand Road is not yet written. He merely acknowledges that Jesus is innocent and asks to be remembered in Jesus’ kingdom. Then Jesus says the sort of thing that a sane, honest, normal person simply cannot say.

“Truly, I say to you, today you will be with me in paradise.”} 

 -Dave’s post

When flying home I had a carry-on filled with my grandmothers things.  Many breakable.  I had to check it below because there wasn’t enough room on the plane.  I was furious.  I was so scared things would be broken.  I told the man taking my carry-on below that this was filled with my grandmothers things. They were fragile and important to me since she just died.  And he said, “I will be careful, but these are just things, she is in a much better place”  I wanted so badly to believe this was God’s way of telling me she was with Him in paradise.  And I obviously still hang on to it. But I also still pray that He has her with Him.  And that she is safe and happy. 

Maybe the fact that Jesus said this to the Theif on the cross, will give myself and others hope for their family that has passed on.  For those of us who are not sure, but so desperately want to believe that God interceeded in supernatural ways to bring our loved ones into His presence. 

 

3 Responses to “Blogging Lent “Paradise””

  1. jackswords Says:

    Thanks again for making this so personal. I feel like my contemplations go from up high then down to me. It looks like you start from down here to up high.

    May God have mercy on your grandmother’s soul. That’s what I pray for the folks who’ve died, but I’m not sure about their position in Christ.

  2. smlwoman Says:

    Is that biblically incorrect? Or are you just making an observation of differences?

  3. jose Says:

    just noting the difference. I don’t think anyone could say it’s biblically incorrect.


Leave a Reply

