Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

What Do You Think? March 1, 2008

Filed under: my thoughts — smlwoman @ 3:38 pm

I have this pencil that I have been using and I just paid attention to the saying on it.  I have no idea where I got it from, but here is what it says,

” God can only do for you …What He can do through you!”

 Is this like a God helps those who helps himself comment?

Anyways, just wondering your thoughts on it.

 

4 Responses to “What Do You Think?”

  1. Laurie Says:

    I think that’s a profound statement.

    You’ve won an award over on my blog. Thank you for the inspiration!

  2. smlwoman Says:

    Thanks for the comments on your page. Loved some of those ideas. I may have to use some next year!

  3. kenny Says:

    Well…sorry to be a downer, but that strikes me as a completely false statement unless your actions are responsible for everything that’s ever occurred in the universe throughout all of time.

  4. smlwoman Says:

    It didn’t sound right to me either. It reminded me of God helps those who help themselves. I often feel like God does lots of things for me, even if at the moment He is not able to do something through me. Just like at the cross. He wasn’t doing much through me that I a aware of because, A. I wasn’t born yet, and B. I didn’t believe in Him till I was in my twenties. However, on that cross He paid for my sins before I was even born. Maybe the people who gave out the pencils were trying to express how much God will do through you if you are open to His will. I do think we miss out on doing some of His work due to unconfessed sin, or just simply ignoring Him. Anyways, no reason to consider it a downer Kenny, I wanted to know thoughts, in agreement or nonagreement with what the statement was.


Leave a Reply

