Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

Blogging Lent:A Forsaken God? March 3, 2008

Filed under: Blogging Lent — smlwoman @ 3:07 pm

“My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?” – Matthew 27:46

This has to be one of the most confusing statements out there for those of us who believe in the Trinity.  Some will say it is  because Jesus was at His lowest point with the sin of the world on His shoulders.  That Jesus just felt that God was far away. 
When reading Max Lucado’s book No Wonder They Call Him Saviour I came across this:

Commenting on, “My God, my God, why have You forsaken Me?” (Matthew 27:46), Lucado states:

“The despair is darker than the sky. The two who have been one are now two. Jesus, who had been with God for eternity, is now alone. The Christ, who was an expression of God, is abandoned. The Trinity is dismantled. The Godhead is disjointed. The unity is dissolved” (p. 47).

As you will see in the link below, there are people out there that think this is Herassy.  I know my pastor at First Evangelical Free Church, could not believe I even thought that.  Neither can the person who blogged on the same topic below.

http://beggarsallreformation.blogspot.com/2008/02/max-lucados-trinity.html

But why not agree with what Lucado is suggesting?  God can’t be sin.  (I can’t find the verse, maybe it is not there.  Any help?” For some reason I believed this to be in the Bible.  I just can’t find it.  Not sure I can make my case without it. 

If God can’t be sin, and Jesus if fully God, fully man, then it would make sense that once the sin of the world was put on Jesus to be paid for on the cross, Jesus would be seperated from His God nature.  It seems that at that moment, Jesus would be only fully man.   Otherwise God became sin.  So wich is it? 

This is what my ponderings have been on this saying of Jesus.  I can’t seem to express it any other way.  In the end I fully rely on  Isaiah 55: 8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith Jehovah.9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

 

One Response to “Blogging Lent:A Forsaken God?”

  1. kenny Says:

    I think you resolved this the right way…a lot of things about God’s nature are just beyond us. Looking back on E-Free, one thing I really disliked was this rigid, dogmatic insistence on far-fetched (if possibly true) doctrines.


Leave a Reply

