Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

Sweeney Todd April 6, 2008

Filed under: movies,my thoughts — smlwoman @ 9:42 pm

I watched this today, twice…
There is a lot I want to say, but for now:
The final scene reminds me of the ending of The Hunchback of Notre Dame. The book, not the movie. They are both equally sad, gruesome, and yes, even beautiful.

 

2 Responses to “Sweeney Todd”

  1. Yvensong Says:

    D and I watched this last weekend. What a surprisingly good movie! Full of pathos, beauty, horror and great songs. This is definitely much darker than any of the other Sondheim musicals I’ve seen (“Into the Woods” being one of my all-time favorites).

  2. smlwoman Says:

    Isn’t “Into the Woods” The fairy tale one? Is that the one that Bernadett Peters played in? I think my good friend Jose stared in that musical too… Too bad I can’t put a clip of it on here.

    You know, Angela Landsbury played Mrs. Lovetts in the origional broadway musical, I just can’t picture it though. She seems to pure to play such a dark character.


Leave a Reply

