Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

Ghosts April 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — smlwoman @ 12:50 pm

Some of you know that I really like to watch Ghost Hunters, Ghost Hunters International, Ghost Whisperer, and Supernatural. See the the trend? I just find them interesting. One friend commented on how surprised they were since I am a christian. My mom has said the same thing. “It doesn’t go with your beliefs” Is she correct?

But the truth is, I don’t know what I believe about Ghosts. I believe in the supernatural. I have to. The God I serve is supernatural. But as for Ghosts, I don’t know what I believe.

The TV show, Supernatural, is a fictional show. And I just think it’s fun to watch. But only in the daytime. Hurrah for DVR’s! They took it off the air for a bit, and everyone was saying it was canceled.  I am happy they brought it back. 

For the most part I believe the idea behind Ghost whisperer to be fictional as well. For the most part. Do you see the hesitation in there?  Who wouldn’t want to be able to hear from your loved ones who have passed one more time?  But doesn’t the Bible says when you are dead, you are dead?  You have no communication with those left behind.  They can’t possibly still see what is going on down here, because God promises us no tears in Heaven.  There is no way we could be in Heaven, watch over our loved ones from up there, and not cry as we watch what they have to go through, or what they do to themselves.  It just wouldn’t make sense. 

I believe what I see on Ghost Hunters to be real. I think the way they successfully debunk many things, leaves us with some hard evidence to ignore.
But what are the supernatural occurances? Are they ghosts, demons, or something else? Again, I just don’t know what I believe about them? Anyways, I’m not the kind of person who wants to go out and ghost hunt. If anything happened, like what happens on Ghost Hunters, to me, then I would freak out. I don’t want to talk to the dead. But I do find it interesting to watch on tv. It doesn’t make me less of a Christian, just an open Christian

 

One Response to “Ghosts”

  1. I don’t think it conflicts. There’s a whole spiritual world out there that we can’t see.


Leave a Reply

