Smlwoman\’s Weblog

“Waiting for that golden moment when fear and desire die, and only the unspeakable reality of love remains. “

Foster Care Classes Update May 12, 2008

Filed under: adoptions in reno,Children,foster care in reno — smlwoman @ 11:20 am

I am well on my way to finishing these classes.  Haven’t been late since that first class.  I go through a few different emotions at each class.  One, they had us pretend to be a single mom with 3 children watched by an elderly great aunt. One child gets sick, my great aunt could now be exposed if I send my child to her.  However, rent is due, and we need food.  I get paid hourly.  They gave us four choices to make.  I didn’t like any of them.  But we had to pick one.  It took me a while to pick.  I was one of the last ones to pick an option.  I was angry, and understood the preassures of some single moms.  Either choice cost us our home, or our great aunts and the childs health.  And all choices would bring a visit from social services.   It was crummy to say the least. 

There was a woman who came twice who was a great advocate of the birth families.  She was a foster mom, and she made it sound like something I could do.  I feel it would be a very good ministry for me.  Trying to bring the foster child and birth parent back together is a hard, but rewarding goal.  However, I am finding that it is nearly impossible to do as a single woman.  Each foster parent I have talked to has one parent that stays home while the other works.  These children need care 24/7 and many of them are not ready to go to a preschool. They also all have appointments they need to go to, so even if they were ready for preschool, they still have family meetings, dr. and therapy appts.   I get frustrated because once again, being single seems to keep me from what I feel God created me to do.   So at this point I am still at adoption from the children who are totally free and clear for adoption. 

I am the only single person in the class, and I find that I am an outcast.  No one even sits with me.  The couples all sit together.  I am whining a bit here.  I hate that so much in life depends on  being couple.  It just sucks. 

I am loving the classes.  They are very interesting and informative.  I never thought I would be interested in something like this because I always wanted the children to know they were mine, I would not send them back no matter what.  But God is showing me there is a great need out there for someone to care for His Children while their parents heal. 

I am trying to get all the items together that I need for my home study, and trying to prepare my guest room.  I also need to get to the cpr classes, and such, but this all requires money.  I guess the government will get my stimulus check right back in a way.  So this is where I am at with my classes so far. 

I still sometimes wonder if I am ready to give up my freedom.  I love to travel, and this affects my travel freedom.  Especially with the families I work for.  So I really need to continue to pray about this, but I am going through the process while I try to make my decision.  I am sure many of you who have had children understand what it is like to lose that freedom.  The classes are twice a week, three hours each, and I have a friend who has needed help with painting his house, and I have homework with these classes, plus a cat who needs attention.  So writing on here has been a bit behind.  I will do my best to post more later.  

 

One Response to “Foster Care Classes Update”

  1. jackswords Says:

    How can I encourage you? What you’re doing now is not for loss.


Leave a Reply

